PDA

View Full Version : Looking for info on ZL-1 #26

Camaro Billy
08-11-2008, 10:50 PM
Some friends of mine bought the #26 ZL-1 Anniversary engine. They are toying with the idea of building a Tribute, Clone , whatever the name du jour is,of the orig. #26 ZL-1 1969 Camaro.Since it would have the new motor in it no one would ever confuse it with the real deal.I told them I would try and help them research the car. Is #26 a known car ? I do know from the VIN list and the CRG report on COPOs that it would be a Hugger Orange car w/ a M-21 4- speed ,black standard interior and J52 brakes.
I would also assume, but don't know for sure that it would be X-44 03A build car.Probably no console, F70 white letter tires, radio delete, non D80 spoiler,and standard N10 dual exhaust.Also would it have the F41 suspension ? I'm just learning about this ZL-1 stuff so any info on the actual #26 car or any input on the build of ZL-1's would be much appreciated.
Thanks
Billy

William
08-12-2008, 12:15 AM
This is really old info but here goes:

#26 was owned & lightly raced in Indiana by I believe a guy name of Jim Pierce. It was for sale in Hot Rod mag in the '80s; Ed C ended up with it. He flipped it to someone in MI. Never cut, pretty nice car.

Here is where it gets strange.

The new owner bought it because he had the complete OE engine from #3. In the early '90s the owner of #3 at that time found the block from #26 and restored it; Chevy HP magazine did an article on the dyno report; we provided a few parts for it and got a credit.

Hot Rod did a feature on #3 in the early '80s and sort of insinuated the engine was original. The owner of the #3 engine was miffed and wrote them a letter which they published.

One would think these two could have reached some sort of trade that would return each engine to its original home. To the best of my knowledge this never happened.

Go figure.

PeteLeathersac
08-12-2008, 01:41 AM
Cool story!.

So what engine was in it when C'Lil got #3?.