PDA

View Full Version : What is a Day 2 car???

JpMotorsports
09-28-2011, 05:11 PM
I am new to the whole Day 2 car term can someone please explain what a day 2 car is and what makes a car a day 2 car? Is it headers and some aftermarket parts to a pure stock car to make it go faster?

Thanks

Salvatore
09-28-2011, 06:05 PM
The President of the Day-2 Club on this Site is Sam Griffith(Mockingbird) Day-2 Dave Miller and Donny White are Mockingbirds CEO and CFO and personal assistants. So keep asking!

SS427
09-28-2011, 06:05 PM
Picture 1969, you go to your dealer and purchase a brand new 1969 SS396 Chevelle. This would be considered Day 1 so to speak. The first day of ownership. On day 2 (figuratively speaking) you remove the smog, add a Hurst shifter, headers, Cragar SS wheels, ladder bars, Sun Tach, etc, etc. That is what is considered Day II today. These parts to be era correct should have been manufactured somewhat close to the cars build year.

PxTx
09-28-2011, 07:21 PM
It does get confusing because sometimes people refer to "Day 2 parts" on a car and the parts are several years newer. I think the term gets used pretty loosely around here when talking about vintage speed equipment in general. Day 2 is a style of build simply using old non-original parts on a car built with the means and methods of what was popular when the car was new.

I'm with Rick that you have to draw a line on when the old parts become too "modern" or were not available around the time the car was new. I personally feel the line should be drawn a the 2 year mark. So that is my criteria, but if you used it around here- you would still be confused as it clearly has a different meaning to others.

JpMotorsports
09-28-2011, 07:34 PM