PDA

View Full Version : 427 quadrajet selection

AnthonyF
11-01-2014, 07:11 AM
Hey guys,

First I'll start by saying I'm a rookie when it comes to working on engines, especially carburetors, so I hope I'm not too painful for y'all. Here's a little backstory, last year I picked up a 78 Silverado K30 with a 427 out of a 69 impala in it. I have since broken the truck down and converted my 79 C10 Scottsdale Chevy Sport to a short bed K30. The engine in my 79 is an over the counter direct replacement 454 that my dad put in in the mid eighties. The block of the 454 is a hi perf four bolt main but it is in need of being rebuilt. In the mean time I want to run the 427 in my truck so I can rebuild the 454 on the side. Before I pulled the 427 out of the 78 I drove it around and it seemed to run okay but had a small miss that went away at higher rpms. I got the motor out, checked the compression on all cylinders and found that 7 out of 8 were running about 150 and one cylinder was at about 110. Now this was a year ago, so my numbers could be a little off, but I do remember the low cylinder being over 100 but considerably lower than the rest. If anyone can tell me what I should expect out of a compression test that would be awesome, Internet says the motor is 10.25:1 compression but I'm unsure how that translates to individual cylinders. I pulled the motor out of storage last Sunday and plan on starting it on the engine stand tomorrow and adjusting the valves in hopes that there is just a tight valve causing the low comp. Any suggestions let me know, <<GRAEMLIN_URL>>/smile.gif