PDA

View Full Version : COPO Identification

CopoCrazy
06-24-2000, 02:36 AM
Hello all. I am fairly new to the COPO world and am interested in purchasing one. I have been involved in restoration of muscle cars for about 6 years, but want to make sure I get my COPO purchase done right. What are some ways to identify a real COPO?

Thank you.

GMH454
06-25-2000, 06:15 AM
Can't help too much technically, but something about let the Buyer Beware keeps coming into mind. Known history helps enormously, as does seller with credibilty.
Chev engines numbers are no guarantee of originality.

COPO
06-25-2000, 06:13 PM
Suggest you start doing some research from the various printed material if you are serious. Since you didn't specify which COPO, I assume you are referring to the most common COPO 9561, ie. a 69 camaro w/iron block 427.

Beyond the obvious engine block numbers here are a few other things to check.

1) Silver grille (common to all non SS cars)
2) Single 3/8" fuel line from gas tank
3) On Norwood built cars X-11 or X-44 on cowl tag. (Having these codes does NOT mean it is a COPO 9561, could be a base car or an SS 350)
4) check for a 4 core radiator (most COPO's had curved neck)
5) Check driver's side outer rear frame rail for welded plate indicating the car came factory equipped w/dual exhaust.
6) most importantly check for "BE" coded rear axle. unique to COPO cars
7) cowl induction hood.
8) power disc brakes.
9) re-read the above post.

That's all that comes to mind. Good Luck!

Horseman
06-26-2000, 03:40 AM
I also have been looking but just to darn picky. Learned alot from books, but they say don't always believe what you read. Go to the shows. And yes BUYER BEWARE. Good luck

YENKO DEUCE REGISTRY
06-26-2000, 12:55 PM
The '69 COPO/Yenko Camaros can also be X66 bodies.

JoeC
06-30-2000, 01:00 AM
I believe there were some 1969 COPO Camaros built in Los Angeles plant that may not have any X codes.

YENKO DEUCE REGISTRY
06-30-2000, 02:10 PM
COPO: