PDA

View Full Version : 1969 Camaro double COPO (ebay)

Bob Jenkins
07-16-2001, 04:44 AM
<A HREF="http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/aw-cgi/ebayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=593281964&r=0&t=0
" TARGET=_blank>http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/aw-cgi/ebayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=593281964&r=0&t=0
</A>

bowtie3168
07-16-2001, 01:41 PM
NEAT!

bowtie3168
07-16-2001, 06:06 PM
I have seen a few bogus stamps. The corvette world started falling victim to counterfeiters a few years ago. I am not saying that the rear is bogus, but, it is something to think about.

Andrew

Casey Marks
07-16-2001, 07:54 PM
OK guys - - I am WAY outta my league on this, but most stamp sequences that I have seen (Mopars and Olds) are done with a stamp fixture. When you do that, you get even spacing, and ALSO it is straight all the way across. I'm by no means a Chevy expert, but that doesn't look like it was stamped all at once. It almost looks like each letter was stamped individually ??? Am I off ??

Marlin - when you say the Nova's aren't that neat, is it because they too are not straight, or is it because they are typically a very *light* stamp, and harder to read ???

http://www.tir.com/~shattuck/be.jpg

[Edited by Casey Marks (07-16-2001 at 02:54 PM).]

copo69
07-16-2001, 08:26 PM
Looks too neat and too crisp compared to my BE. Mine has grind marks where it looks to be stamped before and then restamped with the BE twice. It appears this was done at factory and I always wondered if another rear was converted to a BE. All internals are BE, date codes match, and this was discovered in 1984, before counterfeiting became common.

COPO
07-16-2001, 09:11 PM
If you carefully read the description it says the drivetrain was missing and the correct numbered, but non-original pieces were later acquired. The stampings on the rear look pretty crisp to me compared to a few others I have seen, but I sure haven't seen them all to say one way or the other. Could be a neat car with some $$'s and time and it's documented too.