PDA

View Full Version : 442 W-30 Documentation

Scrooge
10-20-2004, 02:46 AM
Hello, all:

I am currently looking at a '70 442 W-30. The car is represented to be numbers-matching, but the seller has no protect-o-plate or build sheet. All of the W-30 specific equipment looks legit from the pics I've seen so far.

I am not very familiar with GM cars as I've only dealt with (and owned) Mopars. My questions are essentially as follows:

1. How important is the protect-o-plate in terms of authentication and valuation?
2. What is this item and is it different than a build sheet?
3. Do you know of any registries where I might verify this particular car's VIN as an authentic W-30?

Like I said, I am new to these cars and simply don't want to get burned. Thanks in advance for your help!

Matt
'70 'Cuda 440-6

Belair62
10-20-2004, 05:52 AM
I don't think there is an authentication service like Pontiac but if you head over to www.442.com (http://www.442.com) there may be some good info there for you on what to look for.

442w30
10-20-2004, 07:39 PM
Despite my name, I'm no Olds expert. I'll try to tell you the best I can, however.

First off, why an Olds after a Mopar? And what's the deal with the one you're looking at? Colors? Tranny? Options? Bodystyle?

All W-30 were built in Lansing. However, non-W-30s were built there too, so it's a rule of thumb and nothing more.

Auto trannies had their own tranny code, which I think was OW. It was different from lesser 442s. Sticks? I think it was M21 only, which could have been shared with lesser 442s. Highest gear with TH400 was 3.23, stick 3.42.

I know stick cars had too much vacuum, so no AC for these cars, unlike TH400 cars. I also recall no power brakes, perhaps? That doesn't mean you can't have front discs - in fact, discs may have been standard with the W-30.