Go Back   The Supercar Registry > General Discussion > Supercar/Musclecar Discussion

Old 01-28-2004, 05:47 PM

Default 1969 Z28 STORY

I am a newbie to forum, have been viewing for sometime and enjoy the posts and particulary the great knowledge all of you have to offer.

Being at a point in my life with very little discretionary money (wife, kids, debt, etc.) I enjoy talking to others about cars they had in their past.

One day I was in an engineer's office an I noticed he had a faded picture on his bullitin board of a 1969 hugger orange camaro with a much younger fella standing next to it. Camaros being my car of choice I struck up a conversation with him about the picture. He goes on to tell me that shortly after returning from basic training to be in the Navy (stationed in Charlestion, SC) he decides he will purchase is dream car (1969 BB Corvette). All of his family lives in Savannah, GA so he goes to local chevy dealer DAN VADEN to order car and finds it more costly for corvette than he can afford. Well, no salesman wants to lose a sale and asks the engineer have you ever considered the Z28, nearly as fast, less expensive, etc. The engineer ends up buying a 1969 Z28, Hugger Orange, black stripes, cowl hood, endura bumber, black vinyl top, hugger orange houndstooth interior, chambered exhaust, front and rear spoilers, and more off the showroom floor.