firstgenaddict
Carpal Tunnel
Reged: 07/29/01
Posts: 2699
Loc: Greenville, South Carolina U.S...
|
|
Cortez Silver Documented ends on the 11th 69 COPO
-------------------- Collectin' Camaro's since "Only Rednecks drove them"
~JAG
|
Jeff Murphy
Reged: 09/18/02
Posts: 1158
Loc: I'd rather be in Latrobe
|
|
Seems kind of odd that reserve is met at less than $50,000 Mattison's car was a no sale at over $125,000 earlier in the year wasn't it?
-------------------- Jeff M.
ZL1 #49 - Dale, Waukesha WI; 9561AA - Walters, Hebron OH
Support the sYc -- I do!
|
69RSZ
Reged: 01/15/03
Posts: 434
Loc: New Jersey
|
|
there are some people useing pics of other peoples cars and putting them on ebay.im not saying that this is the case with this car but i have seen this with a certian blue 68z.when i emailed them they wanted a shipping fee up front 3k dollars.most ads say buy it now for 9k dollars.these are scam ads and should be avoided.so when you see something thats too good to be true on ebay it usally isnt.
-------------------- Ron C.
67 RSZ/28
67 Z/28
68 Z/28
69 RS Z/28
71 SS LS5 chevelle
02 Z4C Perf Ed#11
|
Charley Lillard
Reged: 04/10/00
Posts: 9961
Loc: Woodland, ca. US
|
|
These days having a reserve does not mean much. At the last minute the seller can cancel all bids or a Friend can be the high bidder. There seems to be more excitement if the reserve is met. Don't be suprised if the auction gets ended. Kind of like what just happened to the Yellow Deuce on Ebay except the Deuce probably has a new home.
-------------------- www.1970z28camaro.com
www.thecamarosite.com
|
Dusk Blue #10
stranger
Reged: 01/28/04
Posts: 6
Loc: Florida
|
|
Tried emailing the "owner" and emails will not go through. I've yet to find any valid contact. The seller is new to Ebay within the past week or so. Not saying for sure, but things just don't add up.
|
SMGCO
enthusiast
Reged: 06/08/03
Posts: 294
Loc: california
|
|
Something has got to be wrong. ( ie, a scam ). By the way I didn't see anywhere in the description that the original drivetrain, or any part of it, was still in this car.
|
Jeff H
Pooh-Bah
Reged: 02/15/01
Posts: 2213
Loc: Ewing, NJ
|
|
I think this same car came up before like this and it was a scam auction. This is a $100K car easily so something must be going on with this auction. I would definitely make sure this guy has the car before anyone shells out any cash.
-------------------- 69 Z28 JL8, #'s match, crossram - being restored
00 Camaro SS
|
Eli
stranger
Reged: 02/05/02
Posts: 22
Loc: Louisville
|
|
I have posted below an e-mail I received from the good folks at cam motors:
"Go to my web site at www.cammotors.com and look up this car.... yup, you've been scamed! This car is in my showroom, in other words, this bozo took pictures of my car and is trying to pass it off on e-bay. I did notifiy e-bay yesterday and still, it's here!(so much for e-bay!) Check it out!"
Very nice of them to take the time to send this out.
|
AutoInsane
old hand
Reged: 11/24/01
Posts: 738
Loc: Pottersville NJ
|
|
'look up this car'.... damn near impossible to navigate that website. Does anyone have a link directly to the car???? (not the Ebay auction)
|
Eli
stranger
Reged: 02/05/02
Posts: 22
Loc: Louisville
|
|
Please be advised that the following auction:
2489127355 - Chevrolet : Camaro
was ended early by eBay. The auction was ended due to the account suspension of the seller. All results for this auction are null and void.
Regards, Customer Support (Trust and Safety Department) eBay Inc
|
69RSZ
Reged: 01/15/03
Posts: 434
Loc: New Jersey
|
|
something should be done to those people that are trying to rip off everyone.the FBI should get involved because it constitutes interstate fraud.
-------------------- Ron C.
67 RSZ/28
67 Z/28
68 Z/28
69 RS Z/28
71 SS LS5 chevelle
02 Z4C Perf Ed#11
|
AutoInsane
old hand
Reged: 11/24/01
Posts: 738
Loc: Pottersville NJ
|
|
I sent Ebay an e-mail to investigate the auction.....
|
CTinCT
stranger
Reged: 07/07/04
Posts: 24
|
|
I checked that auction quick last night and noticed the rear plate on the car. I noticed it is from the Chevy dealer about 1 minute from my office. I thought the reserve sounded cheap, now I see it's a scam. I'll still drop in to check it out, didn't know this car was there.
|
69LM1
old hand
Reged: 12/15/03
Posts: 1065
Loc: New Orleans, LA
|
|
"the FBI should get involved because it constitutes interstate fraud."
They will if there is enough complaints (or someone important enough)!
I got ripped off several months ago. I bought what was supposed to be a 69 dated 427/425hp rebuilt motor. What I got was a 70 402, although it was rebuilt, was no where near worth what I paid for it.
Long story short, local law enforcement (Bellingham, WA) basically had the opinion "If yer use that IeanterNet thing, yer Deeeservve to Looose yer merney" attitude.
Later this same guy (chevynut1969) ripped off a senators son from Michigan (sent him a junkyard motor). That's when the FBI finally got involved.
He goes to court this month! (September)
Hope he rots in Jail!
Rich
-------------------- Rich
www.69lm1.com/4sale
69 X66
70 Monte SS454
70 Z CoPo
|
jg95z28
addict
Reged: 10/15/03
Posts: 413
Loc: Lafayette, CA, U.S.A.
|
|
It's back!
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=6161&item=2489479009&rd=1
-------------------- Jeff
|
Stuart Adams
old hand
Reged: 04/24/00
Posts: 1081
Loc: Lake Havasu City, AZ.
|
|
I'm glad there are a bunch of legit cars owned by members of this site (maybe for sale one day), because this ebay thing wears ya out.
|
jfkheat
old hand
Reged: 11/07/03
Posts: 916
Loc: Laurens, SC
|
|
I believe this is a different car. This one says it is a clone with a ZL1 engine. I don't remember the one from last week saying anything about being a clone. James
-------------------- 1968 Beaumont SD396
|
jg95z28
addict
Reged: 10/15/03
Posts: 413
Loc: Lafayette, CA, U.S.A.
|
|
I'm fairly sure the pictures are the same.
-------------------- Jeff
|
supercomp 8.90
enthusiast
Reged: 01/15/04
Posts: 246
Loc: sarasota, fla.
|
|
that is a different car the other was an iron block& did not have a vinyl top.
|
69RSZ
Reged: 01/15/03
Posts: 434
Loc: New Jersey
|
|
the camaro collector car section on ebay is full of scam ads that the seller says dont email the name on the auction page because ebays email doesnt allways get thru insteat email another name and when i did they wanted a shipping fee up front of 3k dollars!they are trying to get people to agree to split the shipping cost.im wondering if this is happining on the other car sections like the vettes and the hi end mopars.these people are very brave and i hope everyone can see thru their scam.
-------------------- Ron C.
67 RSZ/28
67 Z/28
68 Z/28
69 RS Z/28
71 SS LS5 chevelle
02 Z4C Perf Ed#11
|
Jeff H
Pooh-Bah
Reged: 02/15/01
Posts: 2213
Loc: Ewing, NJ
|
|
This car has been for sale for a while. It's a pretty sweet car with the ZL1 engine in it. I don't know what I would be willing to pay for a clone though.
-------------------- 69 Z28 JL8, #'s match, crossram - being restored
00 Camaro SS
|