PDA

View Full Version : Bead blast cabinets

napa68
01-13-2013, 06:39 PM
What do you have? What do you like? What don't you like? What would you buy or what would you suggest to buy?

Thanks,

Tim

SS427
01-13-2013, 09:41 PM
Without hesitation, the Skat Blast 960 or 970 if you do a lot of blasting. If so I would suggest the 970 as the added room is well worth the price. I have been using them for many years and am very happy with them. http://www.tptools.com/dg/53_Abrasive-Blast-Cabinets.html

Lynn
01-13-2013, 09:53 PM
<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Originally Posted By: SS427</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Without hesitation, the Skat Blast 960 or 970 if you do a lot of blasting. If so I would suggest the 970 as the added room is well worth the price. I have been using them for many years and am very happy with them. http://www.tptools.com/dg/53_Abrasive-Blast-Cabinets.html </div></div>

Thanks for the link and advice Rick.

For a lot of us, floor space is also an issue. My planned work shop is only 28 by 30 deep. I am putting in a two post lift on one side. My workbench will be 10 foot by 3 foot, so my ancillaries better be space effecient.

The pic of the 970 shows a fender inside. Does a 70 chevelle or 69 camaro fender really fit? Is there room to work it around?

Let's say I am not planning on doing anything quite that big. I am assuming most wheels will fit fine in the 960. What might I be blasting that I would benefit from going up to the 970?

Lastly, I know my little 5 hp oil free compressor will not keep up. How much cfm (not what the manufacturer says - always seems to be about 30% short) will I <span style="font-weight: bold">realistically</span> need to keep up without having to constantly stop and wait.

Appreciate your input.

Donnie
01-14-2013, 01:35 AM
x2 what Rick said. I have this one and run it with a 7.5 hp 2 stage

http://www.tptools.com/eccStoreImages/product_images/Images/960-se-sandblast-cabinet_L.jpg

396L35