PDA

View Full Version : High School Hot Rods

MY70SS396
05-17-2001, 06:08 PM
Although born in '72 when I was in high school I drove a '70 SS 396 Chevelle, still own it. There were a few other old cars, Camaros, Chevelles, Vettes, Mustangs, etc.. I wanted to hop up the Chevelle, but now I'm glad I didn't. Still has original motor. Yea, that movie made me think about when I used to drive my Chevelle every day, and put gas in it every other day. Just thought I would add to a cool post.

rat tuned
05-17-2001, 07:53 PM
I graduated high school in 1980 and I'll tell ya I think that those were some of the best car years. I had a 68 buick skylark with a 455 stage 1 motor that I purchased for $600 completely rebuilt. musclecars were pretty cheap and plentiful and you could afford the insurance. then the 80's hit and thats a whole nother story.

Mike Wowk
05-17-2001, 08:07 PM
I graduated in 1983, had a 65 GTO with a 327 when I got it, I put a 400 poncho in it later. It was Black on black(beautiful paint and interior) with chrome reverse rims. I got it for $450.00!! I also had a 1975 GMC Indy Pace truck and a 70 Plymouth Sport Fury

Steven J
05-17-2001, 09:49 PM
My first car in high school was a 1969 SS/RS L-78 Camaro. I sold it to buy a 1970 LS6 Chevelle in 1971. Didn't seem like a big deal back then, but sounds kinda neat now. My buddy had a 1970 Hemi Cuda that he drove to school occasionally, and another guy drove his dad's 1966 Hemi Coronet once in awhile. They both still own these cars. I remember sitting in class and seeing a few cars drag race in front of the school. The benefit of being "middle aged" is having grown up during the musclecar era.

[Edited by Steven J (05-17-2001 at 04:49 PM).]

BEAUMONTBILL
05-17-2001, 10:20 PM
I GREW UP IN A WEALTHY SECTION OF LONG ISLAND. SEVERAL KIDS DROVE PORSCHES, BMW'S,
VETTES AND EVEN A FERRARI. THEN THERE WAS MY BUDDY AND I. MY FIRST CAR WAS A 1969 G.T.O