PDA

View Full Version : Question about a Yenko rumor I have heard

LS6M22
09-25-2002, 08:10 PM
Hello everybody I am new to this great site and have a question.I remember coming across a website a few years back that said that Yenko cars when new were stored in a toxic area behind Yenko's dealership.Doxin,radioactive,or something to that nature.Can anyone elaborate?

JChlupsa
09-25-2002, 08:27 PM
Never heard of that one but if it were to have been no doubt thats where the EPA came up with the term Superfund site but only when all the cars were still parked there /ubbthreads/images/icons/cool.gif

Other than that I dont think that will get owners to sell them cheap to you

JoeC
09-25-2002, 08:34 PM
This is supposed to be a true fact. I asked someone who lives in the area and he said that it is still a fenced in yard with radioactive warning signs posted. He told me this a few years ago so maybe a PA. guy could re-verify this? It was not behind Yenko's dealership but was a nearby rented lot as I was told.

YENKO DEUCE REGISTRY
09-25-2002, 08:35 PM
Yes, that is correct. The cars were stored in an industrial lot up behind the dealership. They apparently produced the plutoniam (sp) for the government in one of the buildings in that ind. park. The entire area is now inaccessible behind barbed fencing, and the fencing has the radioactive signs all over it.

Some surmise that the Yenko cars might 'glow' a little because of their storage location back in '67 - '72.

JoeC
09-25-2002, 08:38 PM
This is where all the missing Yenkos are but don't tell anyone. /ubbthreads/images/icons/shocked.gif /ubbthreads/images/icons/grin.gif /ubbthreads/images/icons/tongue.gif

TimG
09-25-2002, 08:40 PM
Any truth to the rumor that a transport load of COPO cars was damaged in a delivery accident and the cars showed up at the Yenko dealership with the same ID numbers about 60 days later.