PDA

View Full Version : Motion race cars

Dave Rifkin
01-30-2003, 11:33 AM
I was wondering if anyone knew the whereabouts of the cars that were raced by Motion? I recall seeing pictures of a 1969 Camaro and at least one second generation Camaro. What would their value be approximately?

JoeC
01-30-2003, 01:17 PM
There were many Motion drag cars. Some were owned by Joel some were not. Some sponsored by Baldwin Motion until about 1973, then sponsored by Motion Performance. The value would depend on model, condition, documentation, etc. Many of them are now copied in diecast models. I have been collecting info and pictures of them for many years. I can post some info on them if anyone is interested.
Ones that I have seen in pictures are;
1963 FI Corvette "The Skunk" [diecast]
289 Cobra [diecast]
427 Cobra [diecast]
60s VW Bug (gasser class Motion Mini Car sponsored)
67 Corvette (Ko-Motion) [diecast]
67 Camaro
68 Camaro
68 Chevelle [diecast]
69 Camaro
70 Camaro [diecast]
70s? Vega
69 Camaro (red/white/blue) raced in mid 70s

The 67 Corvette was owned by Joel's friend who was killed in Viet Nam. The car was raced in his memory by Joel and family/friends of owner. It won a AHRA title then was pushed in sisters garage where it sat for 30 years. It was found and has been in magazines over the last few years. This is a common myth story to hear of solider killed in Viet Nam and car stored for 30 years but in this case it really happened.
Joel told me he is working with Ertl to do a diecast of the 63 Impala race car called "The Assassin". It was owned and raced by Joel's friend and sponsored by Motion. It ran a 283 and held many titles. I don't think it is released yet and I have not seen it on any of the diecast web sites yet so you heard it here first. /ubbthreads/images/icons/grin.gif

55chevy
01-30-2003, 10:48 PM
Any info and pics of Motion products are more than welcome in my book. I collect all the pics I can also. Bring 'em on! Ed

Dave Rifkin
01-30-2003, 11:02 PM