The Supercar Registry

The Supercar Registry (https://www.yenko.net/forum/index.php)
-   Supercar/Musclecar Discussion (https://www.yenko.net/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=79)
-   -   69 GTO Judge RA IV convertibles (https://www.yenko.net/forum/showthread.php?t=149439)

mrays 06-17-2018 08:15 PM

69 GTO Judge RA IV convertibles

I was looking through some old muscle car magazines I have from the 80's and came across two features of supposed 69 GTO Judge RA IV convertibles. One was Carousel Red and the other was Liberty Blue and they both had automatic transmissions. I'm not a Pontiac expert, but I believe there were only 5 Judge convertibles built in 69 with the RA IV and they were all 4 speeds. Is that correct? I know Milt Robson had a black one. Are there any others that are known?

Baron Von Zeppelin 06-17-2018 08:40 PM

Those articles were probably done before PMD released 69-Newer Invoices free of charge to the public via 1-800-PONTIAC .
They started doing that around 1986 or 87'ish .

You are right , Five 69 IV J-Verts , all were 4spd.
4 Orange , 1 Black
All are accounted for , 3 are in deep hibernation.

Steve Ames former owner of Ames Pontiac Parts has an Orange - then Milts former one in Triple-Black.
The only 2 that are public.

Baron Von Zeppelin 06-17-2018 08:49 PM

Just to add -
prior to PMD hooking us up with Invoices - there were a generally small number of supposed cars with feature articles that were fakes.

One that really shocked the hardest was a 70 Formula Ram IV car.
Turns out 0 were ever built .
Heartbreaker

When Mattison put PHS together and opened up the older Billing History Cards for 1968 - Older , 64-65 GTO's were running about half & half on cloned LeMans's for the first several years or so.

Restored Tri-Power 4spd cars were coming back as 4bbl Auto and 4bbl Manual on a regular basis also.

old5.0 06-18-2018 12:12 AM